Aside

Buttermilk Syrup

20120813-110015.jpg

Oh my gosh, do you need to make this. No kidding at all, you really do need to make this. I bought a quart of buttermilk because I needed some to make a ranch dipping sauce (a different post) and now I have to use it all up, hence, this syrup. I adapted it from a bunch of others I have seen in the past. It’s delicious. I don’t have anything really profound to say about it other than that. It would be great for breakfast (waffles, pancakes, or as shown in the picture, on abelskivers) or dessert (on ice cream or pound cake.) If desired, you can eat it by the spoonful. I may or may not be able to speak on this experience.

BUTTERMILK SYRUP

Ingredients:

-1 stick of butter
-1 C Granulated Sugar
-1/2 C Buttermilk
-1 TBS Light Corn Syrup
-1 Tsp Baking Soda
-1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

Directions:

1. In a large pot, melt stick of butter.

2. Add in sugar and corn syrup and stir until dissolved

3. Stir in buttermilk. Stir the mixture continuously until boiling. Continue to stir for a full three minutes while boiling.

4. Add in baking soda, mixture will rise and double. Continue stirring

5. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla until well combined. Let it sit to firm up a bit but be sure to serve warm.

Note: this can last in the refrigerator about a week if covered tightly.

One response to “Buttermilk Syrup

  1. This is great! I always have leftover buttermilk when I make my mom’s oatmeal pancakes. Can’t wait to try this!

Leave a comment